If you live in a cloud sometimes there will be rain

Well yes indeed.  It started late on Monday afternoon and then slacked off.  Sometime in the middle of the night I heard it again.  It was really raining at 7:30 this morning .  I persuaded Siena that we could handle her urgent need to go outside, inside, and with a small snack she agreed to go back to sleep, so we both did.  I have to say that is one of the things I truly enjoy.  There are very few days that I have to get up at a certain time.  Going back to sleep while listening to the rain is a nice thing to be able to do.

chocolate and flies 009

Some days I feel like we live in a cloud.  In more ways than one.  It really is just beginning to dawn me that my time is my own.  If I want to start a six month project researching something or creating something I can.  I am only limited by money.  Fortunately most of the things I am interested in don’t cost that much.  I was writing with the goal that I would one day sell my work.  (my writing has been rejected by a few publications)  And maybe that is what is wrong.  The goal of my writing should be for my satisfaction.  Not for commercial purposes.

pumpkin festa 048

Creating this blog has taken a huge amount of time.  I am really glad that I have done it.  WordPress is pretty easy to use.  I have learned a lot.  I have gotten a lot of positive feedback from people.  And it was a lot of fun to do by myself and not try to rely on Ben to walk me through it or fix this or that.

Alessandra, our Italian friend in Cortona, says that when Americans first move to Italy, for about six months or so they looked really dazed.  I think she is right.

My friend BK said that she was asked when she retired ‘what are you going to do with your time?’  And her response was that she had a complicated cookie recipe that she wanted to try.  So far, maybe 8 years later, she hasn’t gotten to it yet.

When we moved from Virginia to Italy, Ben and I both made a lot of changes.  We both stopped working.  We started to spend every minute of the day together.  We both had to adapt to a whole new culture and language.  And we moved from suburbs where we had contact with other people to the country where we have to make a real effort to see people.

So I am trying to strike a balance here.  The fog and the clouds are slowly going away revealing that my time is my own.  It is up to me to figure out how to use it and the things that I want to do.  And I am slowly learning to relax my Puritan work ethic, that need to produce, be busy and sometimes just turn over and go back to sleep.

whole foods cheetos 020

I’m lucky there is a bright horizon out there.  I just need to figure out how to get there.

Leave a Reply

