Will there be ketchup and fried things when I go to heaven?

Well I found a big onion a few weeks ago at the fruit and vegetable market that I go to sometimes.  Italians were all excited about them because they were going to roast it.  I took one look and saw ONION RINGS!  Haven’t had those in a long time.  Finally I got around to making them.  First I made a beer batter and let it rest all afternoon.

The onion.  I had started cutting it before I remembered to take a picture.

agritour, olives, pears and cheese 011

We had them with hot dogs, grilled over the fire.  Unfortunately I get impatient and don’t let the oil heat enough so they did not get real crispy but they were very tasty.  We even bought a bottle of Heinz ketchup (some what of a splurge) since we have used up all that we moved from the states.  Italian ketchup is okay but runny.

The finished product

agritour, olives, pears and cheese 012

I had one of my treasured Miller Lite beers with them also.

agritour, olives, pears and cheese 013

Very tasty!

Leave a Reply

