Purple Potatoes

Finally, potatoes of color have arrived at the Esselunga.  We have been getting some very nice orange sweet potatoes.  I was delighted when I found these purple ones and just had to try them.  They were grown here in Italy.  And I remember that last spring I got a bag of fingerling potatoes that were very good. 

 

 

happy hoops day 005

 

 

happy hoops day 008

 

I lightly boiled and peeled them along with some regular potatoes.

 

 

happy hoops day 009

 

Both ended up as a warm potato salad with green beans and a mustardy pancetta dressing.  Very tasty on a cold spring night. 

 

PS: I wrote this a few weeks ago.  On Friday I went bag to the bag of potatoes, properly store in a cool, dry, dark place and a number of them had gone bad.  They don’t have a long shelf life or were perhaps mistreated in shipment.   I might try them again.

Leave a Reply

