Cemetery Visits

When we are back in the US Ben and I feel that we should go by to visit the graves of our parents and others.  We used to make some of these visits on Fathers’ Day each year.  But now we just make them when we are nearby.

 

fall 2013 trip big disk 049

 

Here is Ben at the cemetery in Maryland where his parents and grandparents are buried.

 

fall 2013 trip big disk 055

 

And this is Arlington, where my parents are buried.

 

fall 2013 trip big disk 058

 

 

fall 2013 trip big disk 059

 

fall 2013 trip big disk 066

 

 

fall 2013 trip small disk 008

 

This is cemetery in Louisville is where one of my uncles is buried.  My friend Allan tells me that nearby a Muslim cemetery is going to be constructed.  The first in the area.

 

 

pics from tablet 195

 

This is the Old State Cemetery in Frankfort, KY.  Where my grandmother and many on her side of the family are buried.  These folks were from this part of Kentucky rather than Louisville.

 

pics from tablet 196

 

There is the capitol in the distance

 

 

pics from tablet 229

 

This is Cave Hill Cemetery in Louisville.  A big one.  A number of famous folk are buried here in addition to a few of my relatives and friends.   Don’t really know who this showman is but his stone is below.

 

pics from tablet 230

 

 

pics from tablet 231

 

But we all know who he is.

 

 

pics from tablet 232

 

 

 

fall 2013 trip small disk 046

 

This one, we just happened upon.  It is at the ferry terminal for the Lewes, Delaware and Cape May NJ ferry. 

 

The weather and the fact that I have no idea where my grandparents are buried in New Jersey kept me from paying my respects to them.  Which is pretty bad since I am able to live  in Italy because of them. 

 

So enough on this foggy, dreary day here in Tuscany. 

Leave a Reply

