Its my anniversary!

 

Guest Post:  By Nerone, the dog

 

She Who Must Be Obeyed posted this on August 14, 2011.

 

Yes, another thing Siena would not have understood why it took so long.  We have finally gotten another dog.  After she died I felt that if we were to have another dog it would find us.  Careful readers of this blog might have noticed that  while we were at the Ostrich Sagra, we saw a picture of a promising dog who was living in a rescue kennel.  Well, it took a few days to get there for a visit.  And then the folks who run the rescue kennel had to come out and make sure we were suitable.  And finally we went to pick him up on Tuesday, July 19.

pizza in piazza 037

For a dog who has spent most of his 3 years at a rescue kennel he seems remarkably at home on a couch as well as having very good indoor and outdoor manners.

pizza in piazza 007

His first sagra.  Dogs are welcome here in many places so we want him to get used to going places and riding in the car.  It has been a delight to watch him develop confidence, lose anxieties and enjoy more and more activities with us.

piazza sagra, august 2011 035

The farm is not fenced and I am not sure that he will ever be able to be  outside without being on a lead.  Too many bugs, birds, cats, deer and other things catch his attention and he would just run off chasing after something.  But he doesn’t seem to mind walking on a lead or being tethered to something while we are sitting outside.

I thought long and hard about getting another dog.  I mean, I will very probably be at least 70 years old before he dies.  But now that he is here I wonder why I had doubts or waited.  But I know I waited to find just the right dog and Nerone certainly is.  Physically and with all his mannerisms he reminds us so much of Siena.  It really is like having a young Siena back in our lives.  But he is his own dog also.  All of us are looking forward to a long, happy future together.

 

 

 

This Nerone now

 

I hope I have fulfilled their dreams.  They tell me I’m a good dog.  And I do try.  Sometimes it is hard but I get better all the time I think.  I am sorry that we don’t go as many places together as they would like but my delicate stomach means I get car sick a lot!  It really is best, most times, to just leave me at home. 

 

I’m glad I have a big, important job now, looking after the whole estate by myself.  I take it very seriously.  Why, just last weekend I caught some kitchen oaf sniffin’ around Marie-Claude’s house and cuttin’ rosemary.  It probably was okay but I didn’t like the look of him.  Now if he had been stealin’ those cats that hang around her house…Well, I sure wooda helped him.

 

maggiolata, b day 010 

 

So here I am…  Happy to have a home!  Happy to have a good job that I like!  Happy to have a schedule that She pretty much follows!  Just happy to be a dog.  And they tell me every day that I am the GOOD DOG!  I guess I finally grew into that.  Shew, it was a good thing that they found me, I could still be waitin’ for my forever family.  I’m glad I’m not.  So Happy Anniversary to me, She and My Ben!

Leave a Reply

