Thinking of my cousins

My Uncle John and Aunt Theresa opened a sub/pizza shop, Voltacos, in Ocean City, NJ in the early 1950s.   My brother and I were the two cousins who did not grow up in Ocean City.  Most of  the rest of the cousins had a turn working  at Voltacos in the summer.  My brother and I only got to visit and enjoy a sub every year or two.   My brother and I really miss those subs.  So much so that when we both had money and I would visit Ocean City, he would pay for me to send him subs by overnight delivery service.  I still miss those subs.

 

oc and qm2 089 

 

Some of you might remember this picture of me on the Queen Mary 2 as we came across with a Voltacos sub. 

 

Well every summer, when good tomatoes arrive, I make subs.

 

kitchen, plaster at covivole 018 

 

 

 

kitchen, plaster at covivole 020

 

While it is easy to get the cold cuts and cheese I have to bring a jar of chopped hot peppers from the US.  I am not saying that a sandwich like this doesn’t exist anywhere in Italy but…. I’ve never seen one. 

 

So I enjoyed my sub, thought of my cousins.  Thought of them all working hard this summer.  And wish that one day they can all manage a visit.

Leave a Reply

