Summer fruit and veg

 

My tomatoes have not done well this year.  I thought this one was cute. 

horse round up, august 2015 030

horse round up, august 2015 033

I guess even tomatoes can get strap marks/tan lines and freckles too. Ha ha

 

horse round up, august 2015 036

 

horse round up, august 2015 039

Even though I don’t have a lot, there are enough for a nice hot steak salad using leftover steak from a sagra.

horse round up, august 2015 041

Got on a melon kick a few days ago.  The front one is a variety of French melon (even though it is grown here in Tuscany).  Very powerful melon smell.  Even in the produce section of the grocery it calls out. 

 

horse round up, august 2015 044

And while it smells divine and looks good when cut, the taste does not live up to my expectations.  I have bought  them before; I succumb each year to the smell, thinking ‘oh maybe this year it will be better’.   And each year I am disappointed. 

pizza, porcini august 2015 023

First Tuscan kale of the season.  It was good.  Between our house and Menchetti is a large field that has been planted in stages with kale.  I would not be surprised if it is still being harvested in January. 

1 Comment

  1. grace brousseau

    my tomatoes ,,,one.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

