Mentoring

 

Just before Easter, Ben’s daughter and I made a quick trip to the Cortona/Camucia area.  They have a big market on Thursday.  There are two cut fresh flower vendors at the market. 

early april 2016, purple hair 003

I picked up a lovely bunch of orchids for 10 Euros.  Orchids like this always remind me of Hong Kong.  At the flower markets there you can buy bunches of orchids like this, in all colors, for next to nothing.  But these orchids had a job to do.

early april 2016, purple hair 005

Being an inspiration for my three orchid plants.

 

early april 2016, purple hair 007

Two of the plants have buds.  I just want to make sure that they open. 

Early last summer I thought I had neglected the plants and killed them.  I could not bring my self to dispose of the bodies so I just chucked the big container of all three plants outside and ignored it.  Then in the fall, I looked at them and they were thriving.  Had put out new growth.  So I brought them in for the winter.  Bought some fertilizer for them.  Started watering them regularly.  They have rewarded my efforts with buds.

 

And now a few weeks after I started this, the buds have opened.

 

festa della roche, orchids april 2016 061

 

festa della roche, orchids april 2016 065

 

Turned out well didn’t they?

 

1 Comment

  1. Beautiful! I’ve killed a few orchids myself. Sad affair. You’ve done wonders! And I love the market in Camucia! Yes, the flower selection is fantastic, as are the flowers. Then again, one can find pretty much anything there! By the way, I LOVED your new hair color! So cute! Perfetto!

Leave a Reply

