Daffodil Portrait

 

Long time readers of this blog will remember that I love daffodils.  Every year at the peak of the season I like to gather them up and force them to pose for a portrait.  My idea being, that in the fall when I think of buying more daffodil bulbs, I will refer back to these portraits and NOT BUY the same old same old.  Of course I forget to refer back.  But I really do try not to buy the same old ones each time.  Although I do think that when I buy new bulbs the containers have been mixed up and many times I end up with the same old ones that I already have. 

Here is this year’s group.

late march 2016 003

 

late march 2016 007

 

When we visited Amsterdam I did make an effort to go to the famous flower market and buy some daffodil bulbs there.  I was not impressed by the selection.  Honestly, I had a better selection in the US.  I was after these.

 

late march 2016 020

 

late march 2016 021

 

late march 2016 022

Which have a delicate pink/yellow center.  These are the ones that I planted at John and Richard’s house (the first place where we lived).

 

And here is this year’s special crop from Amsterdam

early april 2016, purple hair 009

 

Hanging out with their friends the asparagus ferns and the hydrangeas. 

 

early april 2016, purple hair 011

Not the rose turning to gold center that I was hoping for.  Still pretty.

early april 2016, purple hair 013

early april 2016, purple hair 014

early april 2016, purple hair 015

early april 2016, purple hair 017

early april 2016, purple hair 019

 

Okay, that’s the end of daffodils for this year.

 

Not quiet, 

 

festa della roche, orchids april 2016 006

 

This one popped up.  Now, I’m happier with this year’s crop.

 

Leave a Reply

