Sadly

 

I write of the death of Nerone, Monday, May 30, 2016 at 2:00 PM.  He died quietly, at home in his bed from complications of irritable bowel syndrome.  Since New Year’s he had battled against it, but was not able to over come it.

As he lay dying, the sleeker cat on the property sat in vigil outside.  I would like to think out of respect.

With the help of our friend John, Nerone was buried next to the ‘sainted Siena’ (Nerone’s quotes, not mine) at Covivole where he first came to live with us. 

The many bags of food that we had tried along with a blanket were donated to the rescue kennel that he had stayed at for over two years before coming to live with us in July, 2011.  Nerone was thought to have been born in 2008.  His stainless steel bowl was left to his chicken friends for their use. 

Every afternoon as I sit outside, my eyes are drawn to the tree that he happily sat under, ever vigilant for cats or anyone that should not be on the property. 

birthday celebrations may, 2016 005

 

birthday celebrations may, 2016 006

(His spot during a summer rain shower)

 

I will fill in the ankle twisting holes that he dug.  Grass will grow in the bare patches. 

 

late may 2016 016

But I will always see him in that spot.  Guarding, protecting, enjoying being outside…  His unique point of view as expressed almost daily and on this blog will be missed by many. 

march april 2015 026

 

He will be missed forever by both Ben and I.

 

15 Comments

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about Nerone’s death. His stories and his point of view will be missed by all of us, near and far. Thank you for sharing him with us these past few years.

  2. Michael

    Nerone was born in Italy and will remain in his home country. Perhaps that was “meant to be” as my mother so often would say. Anyhow, I’m so sorry for your loss.

  3. janice kelly

    SO sorry / SO SO hard. Nerone was very blessed ~ as were you all 💖🐶💖 Another guardian angel for you 💕

    Sent from my iPhone

    Sent from my iPhone >

  4. This is sad news, but he is such a beautiful dog ❤️💜

  5. What wonderful fur people enter our lives for what seems like such a short time. I found this poem–it’s anonymous–that I think verbalized our special friends:
    It came to me that every time
    I lose a dog they take a piece
    Of my heart with them, and every
    New dog who comes into my life
    Gifts me with a piece of their heart.
    If I live long enough, all the
    Components of my heart will be dog,
    And I will become as generous
    And loving as they are

    My sympathies to you both.

  6. Elena

    So sorry. Thank you for sharing him with us. My sympathies.

  7. Thanks

  8. What a very sweet poem. Thanks so much for sending it

  9. Thanks

  10. Thanks Janice. Give Scout an extra hug

  11. Thanks Michael, He was a joy for both of us.

  12. Anne M.

    What a dog! What a hole in your life! Nerone is the only Italian dog I ever met. Loss is hard. I am thinking of you.

  13. So sorry to hear about Nerone passing, such a beautiful, loving boy. Sending heartfelt sympathy to you both, such peace knowing you gave him such a wonderful life, as he gave you so much love!

  14. Thanks everyone for your kind thoughts

  15. BK McCloud

    We miss Nerone and his wonderfully newsy accounts of life with “She who must be obeyed” and Ben.

Leave a Reply

