The garden in June

 

Since I won’t have a garden next year I am trying to enjoy this one to the fullest.  Sitting out each night (when it isn’t raining!)  looking at it and having a glass of wine while I do.  I realized that I didn’t have to buy as many plants this year as I have in the past.  A number of plants wintered over.

mid june 2016 031 

These begonias and airplane plants spent the winter in the garage. With a little care and fertilizer in the early spring they popped right back. 

mid june 2016 032

Same thing for these.  I am cutting the airplanes off as they develop and sticking them in the ground near the gazzinas.  You can just see a row of them at the bottom of the picture below.

mid june 2016 033

 

mid june 2016 035

The gazzinas are really doing well.  They also wintered over well.

mid june 2016 036

Finally a day lilly has appeared.  The cardinal and pink lobelia have just about swallowed it up. 

mid june 2016 030

And in the middle of it all, the FIRST tomato of the year, June 18th!

4 Comments

  1. Grace Brousseau

    Lovely garden,,,,will come by to confiscate

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I really enjoy your postings so much. I will miss them when you move back to the USA! Thank you so much for being so willing to have shared your Italian adventure with all of us!

  3. Thanks for reading and letting me know this. There will be a new blog about our move and the remodeling that we will go through. With lots of whining about things I miss in Italy. Won’t be the same I know,

  4. No, it probably won’t be the same, but feel we have all got to know you through your blog posts so will look forward to your new experiences!

Leave a Reply

